Letter from the President

July 1, 2018

Dear Upsilon Family:

I would like to welcome you to the 2018 - 2019 year for Upsilon Chapter of The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, at the NYU Rory Meyers College of Nursing. I have been so honored to serve as your President – Elect over the past year. I am excited to take over the reins as President and look forward to working with all of you in the coming two years. I would first like to thank Dr. Larry Slater, who completed his 2 years as President of Upsilon, as well as those who have participated in board leadership positions and various committees. We have truly accomplished a lot and have done a tremendous job in providing excellent educational activities, a robust mentorship program, philanthropic endeavors benefiting local organizations, wonderful induction ceremonies for our new members, and great social events. I only hope that we can demonstrate as much success in the coming years! I am looking forward to an exciting year with Upsilon.

Our goal is to continue to expand Upsilon’s footprint among our members with educational and social events, community service projects, and increased visibility on campus. We are interested in fostering new and continued collaborations, including with NYU Langone Health. I would like to thank our Board members and committee chairs that have finished their service. Special thanks to Vincenza Coughlin, Karyn Boyar, Gloria Chan, Jackie Cassagnol, Debra Drillings, Monica Dixon, Aileen Tanafranca, Kimberly Ders, and Nina Hwang.

We are looking forward to more great things in 2018-2019! We have an excellent Board and excellent committee chairs and members to continue with our outstanding accomplishments. We welcome a few new and returning officers, including those who were newly elected: Vice President, Sandy Cayo; Secretary, Beth Latimer; Faculty Counselor, Theresa Bucco. We also have Tiffany Folks continuing as Treasurer, and Michele Crespo-Fierro as our other Faculty Counselor. Our Governance Committee consists of new Chair, Natalya Paslinsky, and members Sarbjit Kaur and Gina Chen. Our Leadership Succession Committee is led by Lisa Konopko as Chair, with members Mary Amin and Jennifer Reed.

For Committees, Karla Rodriguez is continuing as Education Chair, looking to bring great journal clubs and healthcare lecture series educational events for 2018-2019. KP Mendoza, our previous Presidential Intern, is joining us as our Events Chair and will be working with his committee to put on an exciting Founders’ Day Event in October of 2018 and our Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony in April of 2019. Aileen Tanafranca is taking over as Membership Engagement Chair. Chuck Tilley is joining us as our Scholarship, Grants, and Awards Chair.  Our Archivist Maryann Peterson (Chair) and Caitlin Cantando (Vice Chair) will lead our fourth cohort of the mentoring program. Erin Kearns will be returning as our Newsletter Editor and Sophia Pavlatos will remain as our Web Master.

This great group of Upsilon Leaders is excited to serve you over the coming year. Please review our calendar to start saving dates for our events and meetings! We hope to see all of you throughout 2018-2019. If you would like to get more involved with Upsilon and/or Sigma, please let us know!


Selena A. Gilles, DNP, ANP-BC, CCRN

Upsilon Chapter, The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International

Clinical Assistant Professor
NYU Rory Meyers College of Nursing